SAARC Youth Awards

SAARC Youth Awards

The SAARC Youth Awards Scheme was instituted in 1996 to provide recognition to extraordinary young talents and encourage the overall development of the youth in the region. The Scheme is also aimed at encouraging the South Asian youth to excel in various fields and to realize their full potential.

The SAARC Youth Awards Scheme is open to nationals of SAARC Member Countries, who are within the age group of 20-35 years at the time of nomination. The Award consists of a citation in English; a Gold Medal; and a cash prize of US$ 3000.

  • 1997: Outstanding Social Service in Community Welfare - Mr. Md. Sukur Salek (Bangladesh).
  • 1998: New Inventions and Discoveries - Dr. Najmul Hasnain Shah (Pakistan)
  • 2001: Creative Photography: South Asian Diversity - Mr. Mushfiqul Alam (Bangladesh)
  • 2002: Outstanding contribution to protect the Environment - Dr. Masil Khan (Pakistan)
  • 2003: Invention in the Field of Traditional Medicine - Mr. Hassan Sher (Pakistan)
  • 2004: Outstanding contribution to raising awareness for TB and/or HIV/AIDS - Mr. Ajij Prasad Poudyal (Nepal)
  • 2006: Promotion of Tourism in South Asia - Mr. Syed Zafar Abbas Naqvi (Pakistan)
  • 2008: From Himalayan glaciers to verdant plains to coral reefs – protecting the Environment in South Asia - Ms. Uswatta Liyanage Deepani Jayantha (Sri Lanka)
  • 2009: Outstanding contribution to humanitarian works in the aftermath of Natural Disasters - Dr. Ravikant Singh (India)
  • 2010: Outstanding Contribution to protection of Environment and Mitigating Effects of Climate Change - Ms. Anoka Primrose Abeyrathne from Sri Lanka
  • 2011: Youth leadership in the fight against social ills - Mr. Mohamed Faseen Rafiu from the Maldives

SAARC Secretariat, G.P.O Box 4222, Tridevi Sadak, Kathmandu, Nepal 
Phone: (+977 1) 4221785, 4226350, 4231334 | Fax: (+977 1) 4227033, 4223991

© 2020 SAARC. All Rights Reserved.