JOINT DECLARATION ON THE ADMISSION OF THE ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF AFGHANISTAN INTO THE SOUTH ASIAN ASSOCIATION FOR REGIONAL COOPERATION (SAARC) NEW DELHI, 3 APRIL 2007

The President of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, His Excellency Mr. Hamid Karzai; the Chief Adviser (Head of the Government) of the People's Republic of Bangladesh, His Excellency Dr. Fakhruddin Ahmed; the Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Bhutan, His Excellency Lyonpo Khandu Wangchuk; the Prime Minister of the Republic of India, His Excellency Dr. Manmohan Singh; the President of the Republic of Maldives, His Excellency Mr. Maumoon Abdul Gayoom; the Prime Minister of the Government of Nepal, His Excellency Mr. Girija Prasad Koirala; the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, His Excellency Mr. Shaukat Aziz; and the President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, His Excellency Mr. Mahinda Rajapaksa,

BEARING IN MIND the provisions of the SAARC Charter;

RECALLING the decision of the Fourth SAARC Summit (Islamabad, 29-31 December 1988) that the procedure for admitting a new member would be through the signing of a Joint Declaration by the existing membership on the one hand and the new member on the other at the level of Heads of State or Government;

FURTHER RECALLING the request of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan for membership of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), which was welcomed during the Thirteenth SAARC Summit (Dhaka, 12-13 November 2005);

TAKING NOTE of the unanimous expression by the Member States of SAARC of their agreement to admit the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan into SAARC, a decision taken by the Heads of State or Government at the Thirteenth SAARC Summit in Dhaka on 12-13 November 2005;

NOTING ALSO that the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan has agreed to subscribe or accede, as the case may be, to the provisions of the SAARC Charter, all legal instruments of SAARC, all SAARC Declarations, all Agreements and Decisions of SAARC;

HAVING REGARD to the presence of the President of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan at the Fourteenth SAARC Summit at the invitation of the Heads of State or Government of the Member States of SAARC in connection with this Joint Declaration;

NOW THEREFORE, the Heads of State or Government of SAARC, and the President of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan hereby agree and declare as under:

1. The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan shall be a Member State of SAARC from the date of this Joint Declaration;

2. The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, pursuant to its solemn agreement to do so, shall subscribe or accede, as the case may be, to the SAARC Charter, all SAARC Declarations, all legal instruments of SAARC, all Agreements and Decisions of SAARC.

DONE at New Delhi on the Third Day of April in the Year Two Thousand and Seven, In Ten Originals In The English Language All Texts Being Equally Authentic.

Hamid Karzai President of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan Dr. Fakhruddin Ahmed
Chief Adviser
(Head of the Government)
Government of the
People's Republic of Bangladesh

Lyonpo Khandu Wangchuk Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Bhutan Dr. Manmohan Singh Prime Minister of the Republic of India

Maumoon Abdul Gayoom President of the Republic of Maldives

Girija Prasad Koirala Prime Minister of Nepal

Shaukat Aziz Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan Mahinda Rajapaksa President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka